Elements of Fitness – A Mother's Memoir

What a Beautiful Day

Congratulations President Barack Obama! 

Today was a moment in history.  Never before have I cared to follow the journey of a President Elect, or for that matter, watch the inaugural celebrations.   But today I did.  And today I felt inspired by a person I had never heard of up until a few years ago.  Today I fought back tears to the most amazing speech I’ve heard from a President.  And today – I got chills hearing President Obama say that change is here and “we must change with it”.

I am proud of this country.  I am proud to be an American and I am proud that we have finally embraced all of humanity together, as a nation.  When our children look back they will be proud of their parents for being the generation to decidedly . . . make a change.

To You Mr. President, We Salute You!  You have made us proud.  You have inspired us to become a better people. 

“What is required of us now is a new era of responsibility –a recognition, on the part of every American, that we have duties to ourselves, our nation, and the world, duties that we do not grudgingly accept but rather seize gladly, firm in the knowledge that there is nothing so satisfying to the spirit, so defining of our character, than giving our all to a difficult task.”                                                                                        ~  Barack H. Obama

January 20, 2009 - Posted by | Random Acts of Kindness, The Critic | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Great post. I didn’t vote for Obama but I wish him all the best and I was moved also by inauguration day.

    Comment by Brianna | January 22, 2009 | Reply

    • I didn’t vote for him either. I’m so glad McCain didn’t win.

      Comment by C | June 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

