Elements of Fitness – A Mother's Memoir

A Secret for Weight Loss that Men Don’t Possess

BOOBS!  That’s right.  You always hear that men have an advantage to losing weight.  Well not if we’re nursing.  Nursing burns 500 calories just by itself.  Then add good nutrition and a little exercise and you’re well on your way to a leaner you!

Here’s a picture of my secret right here.

  Frankie turned 1 in December and about a week later we stopped nursing.   But 2 months before he stopped I started eating low carb again.  In those 2 months I lost almost 10 pounds.  I think the combination of eating low carb and nursing really did the trick (not to mention chasing after a 1 year old).

See full size image

But before I got pregnant I would combine low carb with running and that gave me some pretty fast results too.  But nothing like this.  I am amazed.  I wish I would’ve connected the two together before so I could’ve kept pumping!

I know a lot of people question the low carb lifestyle and say its not healthy.  But for me, it’s the only thing that works well.  I was afraid to start low carb when the baby was still young because everything I read said it would diminish the milk supply and could also taste differently to the baby so I did the Body for Life  diet which made me lose about 5 pounds.  But the last couple months that I did low carb he still nursed and we didn’t have any problems.

That brings us to now.  I try to run every day and do a little circuit training every other day.  Plus, sometimes after I run I rollerblade for another 15-20 minutes just to change it up.  I get bored really easy.  Sometimes I’ll even take a spin class at the gym because I get bored of the treadmill.

 The circuit training is more effective when I do it right after cardio.  The thought on this seems to be split 50/50 in terms of people saying weight training should be done before or after cardio.  But cardio gets my heart and strength ready and then I’m burning more calories and being more effective with every rep. 

Others say to do your strength training before cardio so you have the energy to complete each set efficiently.

I’ve heard both opinions but mine makes more sense to me.  Just do what works for you.  I’m a firm believer that just one way doesn’t work for everyone.

January 21, 2009 - Posted by | Diet and Exercise, Exercise, Nutrition | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I love reading about another lady/mom who is combining low carg and exercise. It makes me so mad when I hear people say low carb is for couch potatoes…so not true. It does take a little adjusting, but once that happens, I feel like my performance is every bit as good as it was when I used to carb load as a runner. Kudos to you! Keep it up, and thanks for writing about combining exercise and low carb way of eating!

    Comment by critterkeeper | January 25, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hey,
    Cool blog, I just came across it and I’m already a subscriber
    I hope it’s not against netiquette but I have just started documenting
    my own weight loss(I went down 30 pounds in a month, so pretty good
    , and I wanted to know if you could write about
    my diet for your blog readers.
    My latest blog post is
    weight loss products
    If you would be willing to do a link exchange
    that would be excellent since I want to discuss my weight loss success
    with your readers. If I can lose weight then
    anyone can. Whatever you do, don’t give up and you WILL
    reach all your weight loss goals!
    Thanks for reading,
    Joan

    Comment by Joans Weight Loss Story | February 9, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hey,
    Interesting blog, I just stumbled on it and I’m already a fan
    I hope it’s not against netiquette but I have just begun writing
    my own weight loss(I shed 30 pounds in a month, so pretty good
    , and I was curious if you could write about
    my diet for your blog readers.
    My latest blog post is
    safe weight loss
    If you’re up to do a link trade
    that would be great since I want to share my weight loss success
    with your readers. If I can lose that much weight then
    anyone else can too. Whatever you do, don’t give up and you WILL
    meet all your weight loss goals!
    Thanks for reading,
    Joan

    Comment by Joans Weight Loss Story | February 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. […] after cardio.  That alone made me lose 10 pounds of my goal.  I weighed about 145 after a year of breastfeeding (A Secret To Weight Loss That Men Don’t Possess) and I wanted to get back to where I was […]

    Pingback by Want to Get in Shape But Don’t Know Where to Start? « A Mother's Memoir | March 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

