Elements of Fitness – A Mother's Memoir

To My Dad for Father’s Day

Every year at this time, I always want to get my Dad something better than the year before.  It’s so hard to buy anything for someone who is so distinguished.  He has everything already.  What could I possibly get him that he really wants and doesn’t already have?   Well, Dad I am about to try…

Dear Dad,

I love you more than words can say.  You have always been the world to me.  When I was little and would put my hands in yours I trusted you to show me the way.  And never wavering, you always would.  All my life you were there whenever I needed you.   You are a wonderful teacher with the utmost patience and you possess a kind-hearted spirit that makes me strive to be more like you every day. 

I am so lucky to have such a wonderful Dad in you.  Too many people I have met throughout the years either lost their father at a young age or worse, never even met their father.  I couldn’t imagine either one or anything in between.  You have been such an inspiration to me. 

You taught me right from wrong, good and evil, how important it is to believe in God and most of all to cherish life and all it has to offer.  All the while instilling in me so many life lessons.  You told me early on that “priority #1 is always Numero Uno” – that health is the most important thing because if you don’t have your health you will experience nothing.  You taught me as a teenager that “life isn’t always fair” and the soonest I believe that the less disappointments I would feel. 

You’ve always had a way of bringing the most mundane of things to life.  A boring drive would turn into fun and excitement.  We would guess what the people in cars in front of us looked like just by their bumper stickers, license plates or where they bought their car.  Or teaching me about how a car engine works by drawing a diagram and showing pistons, rods, the crank shaft and side block. 

I remember when we went up north to find a Christmas tree and we made a day of it.  We stopped and played in the snow, made snowmen and snow angels and had snowball fights.  We picked the most beautiful tree we could find and then lost it on I-17 just 30 minutes before we got home.  It was one of the best days ever!  We laughed so hard and then on the way home we picked up a tree on a street corner a minute away from our house!  

I remember spontaneous road trips like when you drove us up to the top of the Four Peaks and we actually drove through the clouds. 

The Four Peaks

I remember telling my friends that and them thinking you had magical powers.  And I would tell them that I really thought you did have magic powers because who can drive through clouds?

 I remember all the bike rides where we would ride and talk.  Then, we’d come home and jump in the pool because we were so hot!   Oh and lets not forget my sweet 16 birthday.  It was time to drive but first you had me change a tire.   You didn’t lift a finger – you only gave instructions.  

Dad and the girls

These days it seems we don’t have enough time to be with each other like we used to.  When we do, I get to see you in your role as Grandpa.  It’s there where I get to relive your goofiness and marvel in all the things I loved about you when I was a kid.   I see the kids light up when you play with them and it brings me such joy inside. 

You are not just a wonderful father.  You are a wonderful son, husband, grandfather, a friend to many, an inspiration to all that know you and a blessing to all that share your love. 

Thank you for being you!  Happy Father’s Day!

Love Always,
“Peanuts”

(no, no one else is allowed to call me that… besides Mom and thankfully she never does!)

— The song above is mine and my Dad’s favorite father-daughter song. —
                                                       Enjoy!

June 19, 2009 - Posted by | About Me, Being a Mom, Children, Family, Me | , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Christy, I, too, had one of (didn’t know at the time) rare fathers who not only talked to me, but listened to my opinions. You and I are both so lucky! I do know something worse than losing a father at a young age or never knowing one’s father–that is when a father has very little or no interest in his children–no matter what they do or how much they accomplish.

    Comment by LindaG | June 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. I love it! I still talk to my dad two/three/four times a week! Once a daddy’s girl, always a daddy’s girl! I am so grateful to have the same kind of father … our dads are awesome, aren’t they? :o)

    Comment by AndreasMom | June 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. i know i am only 12 years old but i found this site on google when i wa looking for articles that would mayby help me cope with the loss of my father in january of 09 me and him were really close and i cant believe that so many chnges could happenin a little over 6 months your story made me cry and smile and sounded so much like the things i used to do with my father and that song i hav loved it pretty much my entire life but never really understood it until my father died. THANK YOU your story has helped me in ways you couldnt imagine

    Comment by jenny | July 21, 2009 | Reply

  4. Christy~ I had to get to know you more since we are now FB friends and the more I read your blog, I feel like I’m reading about myself in some way! Scary! Your Father’s Day letter killed me. I felt like I was reading something I wrote but couldn’t. My dad was my best friend and always will be although I lost him to a massive heartattack in July 2007. It still feels like yesterday and hurts so much. No more crazy fun drives just to blow the “cobwebs” out or telling me “As long as I’m alive you will never be alone”. It’s hard. I don’t know many adult females that are that close with their fathers. I’m so happy that you are. Cherish every moment. It can be ripped away forever in the blink of an eye. Thank you for becoming my FB friend due to P90X, and having this blog. It’s wonderful.

    Sincerely,
    Jennifer

    Comment by Jennifer Greenwood | February 26, 2010 | Reply

    • Wow, thank you Jennifer for the kind words. I cannot imagine having my Dad gone! I don’t even want to think of it. I’m actually going out to lunch with him tomorrow and I am so excited.

      I am so sorry you lost your father. I can’t imagine that pain.

      Comment by C | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  5. Hey, Christy, you forgot that he’s also a wonderful brother and uncle! He called me this evening for my birthday and made me laugh as usual. He has always known how to make a ride into an adventure, even when we were kids. I remember going on a long bike ride more than once and him having to pull me home on my bike because we went too far. You are so glad that he is your dad, and that he had our own dad, your granddad for an example. We are very blessed to have these wonderful men as loving examples of what dads should be. There’s only one greater–our Father in heaven. ❤

    Comment by Yvette | June 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

