Elements of Fitness – A Mother's Memoir

P90X Changed My Life Forever

Ok I haven’t blogged in a very long time.   My apologies.  Lots of things happened… some good, some bad.   I’ll save that for another time.

Right now, I am obsessed with P90X and I have to share it with everyone!  No, I didn’t just start the program.  I didn’t want to go crazy talking about it until I finished the 90 days.  I started it in October, you know, after a night that I crashed on the couch and woke up to Comedy Central’s infomercial hour.   I saw this crazy, funny (not to mention very easy on the eyes) guy trying to sell me on becoming lean and tone within 90 days!  I saw the workouts and remember thinking (albeit at 4am) “I could do that!”

SOLD!

30 days later I gave up my low carb diet that my readers know I religiously swore by.  90 days later I lost 5 pounds, 2 dress sizes and 5% body fat!  Guess what:  I was able to do it!  And even now I’m still doing it.  I’m about to start Round 2 week 5 next week and every day I look forward to it.  Never before in my life have I actually looked forward to my workout. 

Now I talk about it all the time and tell all my friends they should really consider giving it a try!  For those of you who have seen this and are on the fence about whether to order this, consider this:  dig down deep and do something awesome for yourself.  In every video there are modified moves and/or 3 or 4 different versions of the same exercise.  It is an incredibly rewarding experience to push your body to it’s limits and succeed at it.  You walk away wanting more and more. 

For all of you who are already P90x’ers, here’s a laugh for you:

Top 10 Ways You Know You’re Obsessed With P90X
1.   on Thursday your child asks you what day it is and you say “Yoga”
2.   you go to a Mexican restaurant and order a “chaturanga”
3.   you say “BRING IT”  in any motivational setting you find yourself in
4.   you tell yourself to “get sexy with it” when trying to wiggle into the frog
5.   When you put on your resume that you have a degree in “PLYOMETRICS”
6.   after 30 minutes or more of sexual activity you have a recovery drink
7.   before starting anything, you have to do at least 5 min of   static/ ballistic stretching
8.   when Tony says “Superman” your 2 year old replies with … “banana”
9.   you REALLY expect (and anticipate) Tony Horton to come to your house if you do 26 side tri-rises or MORE!
10.   you tell your dog to “Namaste”

P.S.  Here’s me in crane pose.  Couldn’t do this at all in October!

Facebook me here!  I love hearing from fellow P90x’ers!

February 20, 2010 - Posted by | About Me, Diet and Exercise, Exercise, Nutrition, P90X, Products That Work, The Critic, Things To Do, Women's Health | , , , , , , ,

36 Comments »

  1. Your top 10 list is really funny! 🙂

    I had to share it with my clients and friends!

    http://homefitnessrevolution.com/blog/top-10-ways-you-know-you're-obsessed-with-p90x/

    I wish you continued success!

    Comment by Timothy Carter | February 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. I am with you all the way…am so motivated and absolutely
    am hooked…am on 4th. week and I am still rusty but love to sweat…I am 50 and I want to be fierce….LOL!!

    Comment by Terri Rolleri | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  3. okay so i started this in Jan and just finished week 5.. I have lost 19 lbs and over 6 inches.. oh my goodness it is a fabulous workout. I just turned 34 this month and have 2 children both under the age of 8. I love Tony and look forward to the workout everyday. I love your Top 10 list and could relate with each one. Best of luck to you!!!

    Comment by sarah brown | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  4. OMG!! Your top ten things are hilarious! I especially agree with #3 and #9! Fantastic!
    Keep it up and BRING IT!!

    Comment by Trisha | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  5. Love the blog, and very funny! I’ve had awesome results too! Keep Bringing It!

    Comment by FitDadPDX | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  6. This made me laugh. I love the list. Great job on the crane pose. I’m on Day 45 and can modify and get into the pose. It’s definitely tough. I can also get into wheel for about 80% of the time they have you hold it. I started not being able to get into it at all.

    P90X is awesome and will change your life! If you’re reading this, you should definitely get it! You’ll feel better about yourself, be happier and be able to do things you never could before.

    P.S. Another sign you’re obsessed with P90X: You find yourself saying something is, “stablatic… it’s ballistactic.” lol

    Comment by Jason Allred | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  7. i love love love p90x and i love your top ten list. my 5 yr old son frequently asks questions directly related to tony, and he does shout “banana” after hearing the word “superman”. i’m on round 3, week 8, doing mostly p90x plus workouts, and i am following the diet plan with it this time. really getting great results. have fun and work hard. namaste!

    Comment by april | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  8. I saw this blog link posted on facebook – isn’t it amazing, how P90X consumes us??? I also just finished my first round of P90X, and am on to week 5 of my second round. I only lost 5 pounds as well, but 2 sizes, and many inches. I feel fantastic, and I have convinced 5 other people to do it. Maybe I need to be a rep? 🙂 Anyhow, thanks for sharing, keep up the good work!

    Comment by kate | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  9. Love the “Superman” Banana”, I laughed out loud! 😀 Looking forward to reading more of your blog!

    Comment by Mary O | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  10. If you’re already recommending the program to others, it just makes sense to be a Coach (rep). I actually started out with P90X from the infomercial and found myself recommending it so much. I didn’t even know you could be a “rep” until after I started recommending it. It just comes natural.

    keep Xing it! Bring it! Gotta love it!

    Comment by Jason Allred | February 26, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you Jay – just became a Coach yesterday! 🙂

      Comment by C | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  11. Thank you for all the feedback! I love hearing all the P90x’ers stories! I tell my friends and family about it and they just don’t understand. It’s so nice to talk to people who share my same obsession! 🙂

    Gotta go – time to go Bring It! (Legs and Back and ARX today)

    Comment by C | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  12. #11 You are afraid @Tony_Horton will come to your house if your heels hit the deck during sneaky lunges.

    Comment by LesMcP | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  13. I loved the post, it’s absolutely great. I’m just finishing up my 3rd week of P90x, and I’m starting to notice the pounds start to fall off, and the inches start to shrink and grow ( where they should be shrinking and growing ). Plyometrics and Yoga still kick my butt, but I’m getting better at both of them. Thanks for the laugh! 🙂

    Comment by Jeremy | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  14. Can’t stop laughing! :)))
    P90X rocks!

    Comment by zmajeva | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  15. Christy, you commented on your post that you were in a low carb diet before you started p90x… were you as skeptical as i was about changing your diet by increasing your carbs?

    Comment by Jorge | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  16. Great list – #12 – You aspire to be a wrist-grabber, just like Tony.

    Comment by Eric | February 26, 2010 | Reply

    • Yes I do and I’m not there yet! 🙂

      Comment by C | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  17. Great list! I laughed about the recovery drink….will have to tell my wife about that one!

    Congrats on the success you are having.

    Comment by Brent | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  18. im on week 4 of my first P90X run and i love it. so far ive lost about 8 pounds and 2 inches on my waist. changing my diet really helped. i dont even call it a diet anymore but a way of life when eating

    Comment by Gill | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  19. Hilarious and on the mark.

    Do you ever find yourself saying, “You might tumble” ??

    Comment by Jorge | February 26, 2010 | Reply

    • lol. whenever he says that I have to try not to hear it otherwise… I tumble!

      Comment by C | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  20. Awesome list! My laugh of the day…thank you!

    Comment by Judi | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  21. Awesome list! My 7 and 9 year olds always say banana when they hear superman 🙂

    Comment by Kim | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  22. I just laughed out loud at your top ten.

    I think you could add one…When you can quote the videos verbatim as Tony is giving the instructions you know you are an addict.

    Comment by Jumpback98 | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  23. 1, 3, and 8 happen to us all the time. My brother can quote every video and has ab ripper memorized. And we have nicknamed our nephew Sam ba Blam, and fight over who gets to be Dreya.

    Comment by Lindsay | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  24. That was a really funny list, thanks for sharing. I always loose it when Tony says something about don’t bite your toes, here I am focused and then he says that, I just start cracking up every time even when I know it’s coming. I too still today worry about eating carbs (was used to eating 1000-1200 cals) and I’m on week 4 1st time of P90X, haven’t lost any weight, inches or any changes that I can see, kinda frustrating but keep telling myself to just keep with it. My goal to get rid of the baby belly, my oldest is 5 now!

    Comment by Yesenia | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  25. You know it’s almots over when Tony says ” I now their working hard”.

    Comment by Kevin | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  26. Love the top 10. I kept expecting to hear about Pam the Blam in there somewhere!

    Comment by Evangelicat | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  27. I truly enjoyed your story and your 10 ways to know you’re obsessed with P90X. I’m also doing my second round and love every minute of it.

    Comment by Hazel Capalad | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  28. Haha. I love the top ten list. Keep pressing “play.”

    Comment by mark brummitt | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  29. lol! Tony should be coming to my house ANY day now. He hasn’t showed up yet. Must have a lay over somewhere.

    Comment by Sushicookie | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  30. […] you might know already, I started P90X in October of last year and I’ll be honest, I didn’t really put the […]

    Pingback by Want to Get in Shape But Don’t Know Where to Start? « A Mother's Memoir | March 11, 2010 | Reply

  31. […] just getting out of bed in the morning.  How in the world will I get the energy to want to go meet Tony downstairs for chest and back or worse when it’s plyo Tuesday?!  I have no […]

    Pingback by Do You Do It In the Morning Or At Night? « A Mother's Memoir | March 20, 2010 | Reply

  32. I hate working out, but I love the results and Tony makes it fun. I’m 43 and have killer abs for the first time in my life!

    Comment by shawn | May 3, 2010 | Reply

  33. I had to post your top 10 on my FB!!! So so funny and 100% true!! Love your blog!!!

    Comment by leslie | January 9, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

