Elements of Fitness – A Mother's Memoir

Low Fat, All Healthy (P90X Approved) Chicken Cacciatore

When I first started P90X I kept my low carb diet in tact.  But after the first month I wasn’t losing any weight.  I felt better and was definitely a little stronger after that first month but you couldn’t tell just by looking at me.  So I decided to start the fat shredder option of the P90X Nutrition Guide.  From that point on, I started finally seeing the results. 

You’ll notice from my other posts that I love taking good recipes and tweaking them to be acceptable foods my family and I can eat. 

So here goes another one.  I made shredded chicken tacos last week and had diced onions and peppers up to my ears AND 3 pounds of shredded chicken left over and I had no idea what to do with it all.  So I found a can of crushed tomatoes and threw in some different spices to make this wonderful Italian dinner.

Chicken Cacciatore

1 1/2 – 2lbs shredded chicken (from cage free chickens of course)  🙂
2 TBL EVOO
1 tsp crushed garlic
1 med onion diced
3 bell peppers (green, yellow and red)
1 large can (28 oz) crushed tomatoes
2-3 bay leaves
1 tsp italian seasoning (or just sprinkle in dried basil, oregano, thyme and sage)
1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1 tsp dried ground chipotle peppers (grinder)
1 pckg whole grain rotini or fusilli
pecorino romano as topping (for the kids!)

Saute onions and garlic in EVOO until soft (about 3 min).  Add peppers and continue cooking for 3 more minutes.  Prepare pasta as indicated on box.  Transfer peppers (minus the drippings) into med saucepan, add tomatoes and seasonings and simmer.  Add chicken. Once pasta is done, serve!

March 6, 2010 - Posted by | Cooking, Diet and Exercise, Dinners Kids Devour, Low Fat Recipes, Nutrition, P90X, P90X Recipes | , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Awesome! Nice Article. Very informable. Definatly will check back in. Keep up the good work!

    Comment by Scott Shoup | June 3, 2010 | Reply

  2. […] Trick to Curb Cravings If you’ve read any of my recipes, you’ve noticed I love to take normally unhealthy meals and make them healthy just by […]

    Pingback by My Trick to Curb Cravings « A Mother's Memoir | June 2, 2011 | Reply

  3. […] Low Fat Chicken Cacciatore […]

    Pingback by Can Regular Sunshine Give You a Better Body and Health « A Mother's Memoir | June 5, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

