Elements of Fitness – A Mother's Memoir

Do You Do It In the Morning Or At Night?

First week back to work after 4 years is done.  Why is it we don’t cherish what we have until it’s gone?  This recession finally hit our home this year and I am forced to go back to work.  The real estate market did us in just in the past 3 months.  We were used to having at least 5 bank-owned listings each month and now we’re lucky to see 1 every couple of months.  Last year at this time it was more like 20 a month. 

It was proving to be a wonderful way of living until President Obama decided to place a national moratorium on all the foreclosures forcing banks to go the way of short sales.  What a lovely band-aid placed on a decapitated head, Obama.  It’s not going to work long-term.  It has only forced banks to get paid by FDIC insured monies.  I’ll skip over the politics and stay on the path of the realist that I am. 

I started this week at what is looking to be a very promising opportunity and while I am excited about it, I am also missing my previous position as my household’s domestic engineer!  No, I have never referred to myself as that when I was a stay at home Mom but now that I can no longer claim that title I find it so true to it’s intended meaning. 

When I’d get home from work this week I felt like such an outsider.  The girls were on Spring Break this week and Frank is still struggling to work from home so he had all 3 kids in the house.   He did manage to make it work and did it pretty well too.  He wasn’t able to get much work done but he took care of the kids better than I thought he would.   Granted, the dishes never got done, the laundry is calling my name (as I write this) and the baby got sick because a sippy cup of milk got left out but other than that the house held up without me.  He also made dinner 4 of the 5 nights!  It was all grilled but at least I didn’t have to do it!  I renamed Frank Mr. Mom this week and the kids have adopted it too. 

Anyways, it really hurts to start a new chapter of life especially when you’re forced to do it.  The kids want me back home but I think that was just based off their boredom from being out of school.  The baby ignored me when I got home from work.  If he needed something he went straight to Frank even though I was right there!  That hurt so bad. 

I am very grateful to have a job right now in this terrible job market.  So, in hopes of finding the silver lining in all of this I started focusing on trying to work out this week to combat my disappointments of not being needed!  Only problem:  I couldn’t figure out when to work out!  Monday I got home from work and we immediately ate dinner.  Then Frank left to go work out and I had to get the kids ready for bed so I could work out.  By the time they were in bed I was completely exhausted and just wanted to curl up on the couch with a glass of wine!   But I couldn’t – those were my old ways before P90X!   I decided to not have the glass of wine but I also decided not to work out because it was so late.  My plan was to wake up early and do it before work but then I would cut my hours of sleep to only 5!   That doesn’t work for me so needless to say, this week I only worked out 4 times!  It was thankfully a recovery week of Phase 2 so next week I really need to get it together and make no excuses.

But this begs the question:  when is the best time to work out?  There is a fitness center at my work which is fantastic for the guys.  But for me… not so much.  I can’t work out for 45 min, shower and get ready and be back to work all within an hour!  Not going to happen.  I also know now that I cannot work out at night so my only option is in the morning.  But it’s a struggle just getting out of bed in the morning.  How in the world will I get the energy to want to go meet Tony downstairs for chest and back or worse when it’s plyo Tuesday?!  I have no idea!

March 20, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. working from home is the best job that you can get, you will always find comfort in your home while working :*.

    Comment by Eyelet Curtains | November 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

