Elements of Fitness – A Mother's Memoir

Variety is the Spice of Life

Spoken so truly by Tony Horton (creator of P90X):  “Variety is the Spice of Life”.   So, to  that note,  it’s time to change things up a bit.   I have already done P90X twice and Insanity once.  Now this is becoming addicting.  It’s amazing watching your body transform and seeing how fast your body adapts to how you treat it.   What you put in is a direct result of what you get out of it.  Treat your body badly and it will treat you badly.  Or, give it what it needs and it will thrive and inspire you to become even better. 

Insanity recommends a diet ratio of 40/40/20 while on the program (40% protein, 40% carbs, and 20% fat).  Even though I know my body always responded well to a diet low in carbs I figured  I would follow this program to the letter because it looked like nothing I’d ever thought possible.  It lives up to its name in every sense of the word.   And I got some awesome results.  However, in my quest to conquer this program a second time I’ve decided to try a 50/30/20 ratio.  I’ve been doing this for a week now and I’m already liking how I feel a lot better.  I admit the workouts are harder without the energy of so many carbs but that’s ok.  So I take more breaks – and I’m ok with that. 

Now that my metabolism is burning through food so fast I have been feeling hungrier.  I ate an egg white omelette this morning (4 eggs, 1 yolk and red and green peppers) and 2 hours later I was hungry like I hadn’t eaten at all!  So I had a protein shake (whey protein).  Another part of the day I get hunger pangs is right when it’s time to go to bed!  For a week it was getting really hard to fall asleep so without realizing it right away I was indulging on cottage cheese and then I would fall right asleep.  So now, instead of the cottage cheese I’ve starting having a casein protein shake before I lay down.  Casein protein prevents your body from breaking down muscle while you sleep (very important).  If you’re hungry between meals the 2 best things to eat are whey protein or vegetables. 

Getting fit means constantly tweaking things.   Whether that’s diet or exercise you have to continually make changes.

July 25, 2010 - Posted by | Diet and Exercise, Eating Low Carb, Exercise, Insanity, Nutrition, P90X, Products That Work, The Critic | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

