Elements of Fitness – A Mother's Memoir

What to Eat and When to Eat It

New for 2011:  make the time to blog again at least once a week!  I know I need to get back to where this whole idea of mine started.  Right here.  This blog was meant for sharing encouragement, new ideas and recipes to other Moms like me.  I was home with the kids all day doing the SAHM thing and wanted more out of life, I wanted more time in the day but most importantly more energy to improve myself and be able to keep up with the kids!  I knew it began with me.  My neighbor was telling me about P90x and I thought “What the heck?  why not?  At least I wouldn’t have to drag the kids to the gym with me if I did this.”   That’s all history now, I fell in love and became addicted.  Before I knew it I lost 2 dress sizes but started gaining weight (muscle) and getting what I always wanted:  TONED!

I met Tony Horton this past Tuesday night and I like him even more than before!   As I was listening to him speak to this crowd of 120 of his most locally adoring fans I thought WOW – he has really changed the lives of so many and I am so proud to be a part of his vision.  

The most common excuse I hear is ‘I don’t have the time’.  And that’s just not true.  If you want something you WILL do what it takes.  Take care of yourself.  If you don’t have your health you have NOTHING!   You can’t make any changes until you “DECIDE, COMMIT, SUCCEED“.  It’s Beachbody’s motto for a reason.

Exercise is only a small part of the whole equation.  Your body is a direct reflection of what you put in it.  We’ve all heard “you are what you eat”.  It’s true.  Nutrition is the most important thing BEFORE what exercises you do each day!  What good is your exercise if you’re just burning off the Big Mac you had for lunch today?  Do you want to know what works?  Well here you go:

  • There’s no certain times to eat.  You don’t need to eat 8, 12 and 6 for dinner.  When you wake up you need to eat something within the first 10 minutes.  Best thing to eat right away is a banana.  It spikes your blood sugar immediately and its really the only time of day you can eat a banana because of this (unless you eat it right before or right after a workout).

 

  • Stay away from all processed foods!  This is hard because they are everywhere!  I’m sure you’ve heard it before but stay away from all the inner aisles of the grocery store.  There’s nothing in those aisles that your body needs…. EVER….. including alcohol!

 

  • Supplements and protein are crucial to building muscle and losing weight.  There is not enough nutrition even in the whole foods that we eat.  Our soils are currently depleted of nutrients and it’s hard for the body to absorb synthetic multi-vitamins in a pill form.  So any powders or liquids are the way to go or last choice “whole food multi-vitamins”.   **** NOTE:  Do not buy supplements from Hi Health or GNC.  You can go there and find out what to buy but then go home and pull it up on Amazon and you’ll see its 40-50% cheaper and spend enough and Amazon ships it all for free!

 

  • Try to stay away from dairy except cheese.  But buy low fat cheese and remember even cheese causes bloating so eat it only when you REALLY are craving it.

 

  • VERY IMPORTANT:  drink lots of water and get at least 6 to 7 hours a night of sleep (that’s hard to do – I know!  but so important for your body).

 

  • And LASTLY, here it is:  EXERCISE!   If you’re not exercising now, start moving in some way at least 3-4 days a week.  And sweat!  Get your heart rate up.  Buy a heart rate monitor – you don’t have to buy the best – just $40 at Target

Here’s what I do.  Each and every day.  Might be boring but I’ve found what works for me:

Morning:

When you first wake up:  eat a small banana (buy them small or split one with one of your kids).

If you can, within, 20 min of that eat some oatmeal (steel cut oats are the best – they take 35 minutes to make but you can make a whole lot at one time and then reheat for the next couple days)

                Sprouts has a good steel cut oatmeal.  Also, Costco sells Coaches brand which is good too.

Mid Morning Snack:  (2 hours after you finished the oatmeal)

A small red apple and 2 hard boiled eggs (if you don’t like eggs have a protein shake)

You can also have a granola bar and an apple if you’re lacking energy (Nature Valley is a good one –oats and honey)  yes this is processed but there’s only 7 ingredients in it. 

The only preservatives in it is honey which is natural.

Lunch: (2 hours after snack)

Salad with as much veggies as your heart desires (sauteed red peppers and tomatoes are a great addition because when these get cooked they produce even more anti-oxidants.)

If you want a sandwich, use grilled chicken and pick a 100% whole grain bread and don’t worry about the calories in it if its 100% whole grain.  Nature’s Own is a good brand. 

                Try to stay away from deli meats (they are also highly processed!  Lots of salt and preservatives)  if you must pick a deli meat choose a “Low Sodium turkey or chicken”

Afternoon Snack:

Shakeology is a great afternoon snack or use your own favorite meal replacement shake.  You can also eat a small handful of raisins (but eat raisins for this snack only when you’re planning on working out that day)

If you didn’t eat the granola bar for your mid morning snack you can eat it now.

If you start to not need a meal right before bed (as mentioned below than you can choose to eat your lowfat cottage cheese here – I even toss the handful of raisins in the cottage cheese)

Dinner:  (very little carbs here – if you notice all your carbs you have eaten by noon or the latest by 3pm) – the only carbs at dinner should be from your vegetables)

6oz lean meat (ground turkey, fish, chicken) and a side salad or veggies (the freshest veggies the better) – and the green leafiest the better!

If you are hungry at any time after dinner do not gorge yourself on anything!  The 2 best things to eat before bed is a thick casein protein shake or lowfat cottage cheese!   (If you like raw, crunchy vegetables that’s fine too but may not satisfy your hunger – protein satisfies hunger and keeps you fuller longer!)

YOU CAN DO THIS TOO!  It’s not difficult.  You’ll notice after a while you won’t even be hungry sometimes every 2 hours.   Your stomach size will shrink and will require less and less food. 

Let me know what foods you can’t stand on here and we can change or substitute them.  Let me coach you on your journey.  I love helping people reach their fitness goals!   You can find me on Facebook where I keep you accountable and post tips and tricks.

 

January 16, 2011 - Posted by | Being a Mom, Cooking, Diet and Exercise, Eating Clean, Exercise, Nutrition, P90X, P90X Recipes, Products That Work, Shakeology | , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] done several rounds of P90X and totally transformed my body.  When people ask me “Does P90X work?”  I tell them “Yes!”  But it takes hard work and dedication.  As your fitness coach, I […]

    Pingback by Ready for P90X2? « A Mother's Memoir | August 24, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

